The Nightstar Zoo
http://zoo.nightstar.net/

Zoo Server Upgrade
http://zoo.nightstar.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=10662
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Chalain [ Fri Dec 17, 2004 6:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Zoo Server Upgrade

Wednesday around 4pm MST (23:00GMT), heimdall, the Zoo server went down due to overheating caused by insufficient ventilation in the server room. (Actually, it was caused by too many new computers added to the server room, but of the two problems we'd rather fix the ventilation. :) ) Thanks to the quick response of Bookworm, we were able to get the Zoo back online within about 90 minutes.

This is not the first time this has happened to heimdall, however, and this time there appeared to have been physical damage to the server, so it was decided to replace the failing components as soon as possible. That happened this morning around 8am MST (15:00GMT). The new Zoo hardware is significantly better than the old equipment. Special thanks are due to Bookworm for footing the bill for this upgrade out of his own pocket.

There appear to be some minor issues that have cropped up as a result of this upgrade, but we should be able to iron those out without any major interruptions. We will be doing touchup maintenance on the Zoo all throughout the weekend that may result in one or two minutes of downtime every few hours. If you find you cannot access the Zoo, please wait a minute and try again. There are no planned outages that will last more than a minute.

Thank you for your patience.

Author:  kreely [ Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

Okay folks, here's the update. Sat (tomorrow) around 10 am cst, I'm taking the server that hosts the Zoo down for about 15 minutes.

Thank you for your patience.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/