The Nightstar Zoo

Nightstar IRC Network - irc.nightstar.net
It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:25 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 10:43 am 
Im new to this section of the forum, and it seems like the best place to put this thread since i didnt find a computer and tech forum.

I have a problem with a computer. The mouse crashes (logitech optical, stop working, light goes out, still detects in the system as functional) the the computer will freeze forcing a reboot, at which point the system says:

window\system\config is corrupt or missing.

this is off a fresh reformat, which by the way is a pain to do because i get memory errors and no page faults. I have systematically tested the ram, the drives and the installed boards to see what the problem is, and run the system BIOS under every working configuration i can find. If anyone has some advice i would really love to know what i can do to fix the computer, cause right now i am totally out of ideas.

PS: if this is the wrong place for this thread, let me know where i can go...
just dont tell me the hot place.

Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:31 pm 
download knoppix. burn to cd. reboot off the cd. If the same thing happens, you know two things: 1) it's probably a hardware problem. 2) It's not the hard disk

If you don't have broadband, there are some smaller "live linux" cd's out there. Ubuntu will mail you a CD for free, and huge number of images can be found at linuxiso.org.